Murder for Christmas (Mordecai Tremaine Mystery)

November 17, 2017 - Comment

The first book in a classic Golden Age mystery series perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot When Mordecai Tremaine arrives at the country retreat of one Benedict Grame on Christmas Eve, he discovers that the revelries are in full swing in the sleepy village of Sherbroome?but so too are tensions amongst the assortment

Buy Now! $10.39Amazon.com Price
(as of December 17, 2017 6:13 am UTC - Details)

The first book in a classic Golden Age mystery series perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot

When Mordecai Tremaine arrives at the country retreat of one Benedict Grame on Christmas Eve, he discovers that the revelries are in full swing in the sleepy village of Sherbroome?but so too are tensions amongst the assortment of guests.

When midnight strikes, the partygoers discover that presents aren’t the only things nestled under the tree…there’s a dead body too. A dead body that bears a striking resemblance to Father Christmas. With the snow falling and suspicions flying, it’s up to Mordecai to sniff out the culprit?and prevent anyone else from getting murder for Christmas.

Murder for Christmas is a festive mystery for the holiday season: mulled wine, mince pies… and murder.

Comments

AnnieB says:

Classic golden age mystery from an almost forgotten master Originally published in 1949, this is a classic golden age English country house murder. All the boxes are checked off: country house, isolated by nature/weather/etc, eccentric group of characters gathered together, add one amateur sleuth to the mix, then add murder and stir well. This reissue is being released in October by Sourcebooks and was originally written by Francis Duncan, aka William Underhill. There was also a mystery about the original author of the book itself which was solved…

Texanne says:

A CLASSIC IN THE TRUEST SENSE OF THE WORD —-TERRIFIC This book was published in 1949 and the author was Francis Duncan, real name William Underhill. He wrote mysteries because he loved doing it. He created word pictures which were so precise that it is easy to see the scene in one’s mind. His writing is almost poetic. 

Maxine McLister says:

Intelligent Christmas Cozy Amateur detective Mordecai Tremaine has been invited to spend the Christmas holidays at the home of Benedict Grame. Although this is Tremaineâ??s first invitation to this annual party, most of the guests are regular visitors. Along with his invitation, he had received a note from Grameâ??s secretary, Nicholas Blaise, who is worried that something may be wrong with Grame. Tremaine may be an amateur but he is determined to keep an eye on everyone. And it turns out that Blaine had reason to worry…

Comments are disabled for this post.

Copyright © 2017 agathachristiebooks.com. All Rights Reserved.